DIE ANTHROPOLOGISCHE RUDOLF-VIRCHOW-SAMMLUNG
der Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte

[What's On] [Access to the Collection] [Charge Fees for Use of the Collection] [Advice for Quotations] [Provenience] [Photos] [Historical Catalogues]  

 

What's On

The anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection had been in trustee of different institutions in Berlin for longer than 65 years. Since summer 2010 the Berlin Society of Anthropology, Ethnology and Prehistory (BGAEU) cares as the collection's owner for its inventory.

The about 1870 by the world-famous pathologist, prehistorian and anthropologist Rudolf Virchow (1821 - 1902) for teaching purpose established collection of human skulls and skeletons resides since 2010 in the district Treptow-Köpenick in Berlin. With effort of very high funds, which were raised only from the Society's membership fees and donations, it was possible to rehouse the more than 4500 objects in modern, for long-term conservation adequate storage. On 9th July 2011 was the re-opening of the collection storage at the new location, where it is accessible to scientists from all over the world for surveys and analyses. Even before the re-opening, the BGAEU received first requests from Germany, United Kingdom and the United States of America concerning the comprehension of objects from the Rudolf Virchow Collection in university research projects.

Till 2010 the Berlin Medical Historical Museum of the Charité had been the trustee of the anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection. A new maintenance and use conception of the former storage building as well as constructional defects resulted in today's solution.

back to top


Access to the Collection

The anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection is currently curated by our member Ms Barbara Tessmann M.A. She is a prehistorian and anthropologist.

If you like to use the collection in connection with a scientific research project, please contact at first Ms Tessmann sammlung@bgaeu.de. If possible, please send her a short message with your request, especially with the following information
   1) the content and aim of your research project,
   2) the methods you mainly intend to use for realisation of your research project,
   3) the institution and/or the client of your research project,
   4) the approximate number and the geographical origin of the objects you would like to examine,
   5) further information, which may be relevant for judgement of your research project by the BGAEU.

Please note that research projects which implicate an irreversible change of the substance of the objects or a transport, has possibly to be discussed by the board of the Society. In this case the board decides as soon as possible, if and in which complexity your research project can be supported by the BGAEU.

In most of the other cases Ms Tessmann will verify your request in a couple of days and contact you to make an agreement concerning your work with the collection. In cases of extensive projects she will contact at first the board of the Society.

If you like to realise your research project by using just the collection documentation or archival material, please contact the archive of our Society (archiv@bgaeu.de).

back to top


Charge Fees for Use of the Collection

The technical and scientific curation as well as the conservation of the anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection causes high running costs, which have to be financed in full amount by the BGAEU. The size of the takings from membership subscriptions and donations sets a tight limit for this. The Society does not get any public funds.

That is why it is necessary that the BGAEU charges the scientific use of the collection. The fee is applied to cover the costs, which are caused by using the collection. The levying of the fee does not aim at making profits, which is already excluded by the comparatively low calculation.

The use fee is imposed for each working day. The minimum amount for the scientific use of objects from the collection is currently 40,00 €, reduced fee 20,00 €. Should you consider or already intend a scientific use of the anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection, please ask for the current “Scale of Fees for the Use of the Anthropological Collection of the Berlin Society of Anthropology, Ethnology and Prehistory” by e-mail (sammlung@bgaeu.de) or by mail.

The use fee generally needs to be paid in advance to the below named bank account. Overpaid fees are going to be refund after your stay, unless the BGAEU did not already done work in preparation of your visit. Therefore, please plan your visit at the anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection thoroughly. We also support you with every kind of information about the objects in the collection. We will always do our best to work out with you an optimal schedule for your visit at the anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection.

A later extension of your stay is generally possible. It needs only a formless written or oral application. This will be sustained, if the BGAEU is able to provide rapidly the organisational conditions, especially if the supervision during your longer stay is ensured and if a working place could be provided.

At the first day of your stay at the collection you will get access to the requested objects for at least six hours, at the following days for eight hours. A working day longer than eight hours per day could be arranged individually without additional costs. The user is not authorised to make a claim for a more than eight hours

Please use the following bank account for money transfers of any charge fees in connection with your stay at the anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection:
account holder: BGAEU e.V.
account number: 106015100
bank sorting code: 10010010
bank: Postbank Berlin
IBAN: DE89 1001 0010 0106 0151 00
BIC: PBNKDEFF

Full Members of our Society always have to pay the reduced fee.

In reasonable exceptional cases it is possible to abandon the charge fee.

back to top


Advice for Quotations

If you quote our objects in scientific works, please note the following advice for quotations.

The correct quoted inventory number of the anthropological Rudolf Virchow Collection always consists of three parts:
1) the owner of the object,
2) group of the collection, to which the object belongs to and
3) the consecutive number of the object in the group of the collection (with an addition, if there is one).

Please use the following German abbreviation for the Berlin Society of Anthropology, Ethnology and Prehistory as the owner of an object: BGAEU.

Here are some examples for complete inventory numbers:
BGAEU-RV 1234
BGAEU-RV 1234A
BGAEU-KK 1234
BGAEU-PS 1234
BGAEU-MM 1234
BGAEU-SAAM 1234

back to top


Provenience

(At the moment there is no content.
For information about the history of the collection, please see also Ulrich Creutz' short contribution „100 Jahre anthropologische Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung“ [only in German].)

back to top


Photos

[Storage Rooms]
[Objects]

back to top


Historical Catalogues

(At the moment there is no content.)

back to top

[back to home page]

DIE ANTHROPOLOGISCHE RUDOLF-VIRCHOW-SAMMLUNG
der Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte

[Aktuelles] [Zugang zur Sammlung] [Benutzungsgebühr] [Zitierhinweise] [Überlieferungsgeschichte] [Bilder] [Historische Sammlungskataloge]  

 

Aktuelles

Nach mehr als 65 Jahren Treuhandstatus an verschiedenen Institutionen Berlins wird die anthropologische Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung seit Sommer 2010 wieder unmittelbar von ihrer Eigentümerin, der Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte (BGAEU) kuratiert.

Das neue Domizil der ab etwa 1870 von dem weltbekannten Pathologen, Prähistoriker und Anthropologen Rudolf Virchow (1821 - 1902) initiierten Lehrsammlung menschlicher Schädel und Skelette liegt im Berliner Stadtbezirk Treptow-Köpenick. Unter Einsatz erheblicher finanzieller Mittel, die von der BGAEU ausschließlich aus Spenden und Mitgliedsbeiträgen aufgebracht werden mussten, gelang binnen eines Jahres die Neuaufstellung der über 4.500 Objekte unter Einsatz moderner, konservatorisch wirksamer Aufbewahrungstechnik. Am 9. Juli 2011 wurde die Sammlung am neuen Standort wiedereröffnet und steht seither Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt für Studien und Analysen zur Verfügung. Erste Anfragen aus Deutschland, Großbritannien und den USA zur Einbeziehung von Objekten der anthropologischen Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung in universitäre Forschungsprojekte lagen der BGAEU bereits vor der Wiedereröffnung des neuen Sammlungsstandort vor, weitere kamen seitdem hinzu.

Bis 2010 hatte das Berliner Medizinhistorische Museum (BMM) der Charité die anthropologische Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung treuhänderisch verwaltet. Eine neue Trägerschaft und Nutzungskonzeption für das bisherige Depotgebäude sowie dessen bauliche Mängel führten schließlich zur jetzigen Lösung.

Nach oben


Zugang zur Sammlung

Die anthropologische Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung wird gegenwärtig von unserem Mitglied Barbara Teßmann M.A. betreut. Frau Teßmann ist Prähistorikerin und Anthropologin.

Wenn Sie die Sammlung im Rahmen eines wissenschaftlichen Forschungsvorhabens nutzen möchten, nehmen Sie bitte zuerst per E-Mail Kontakt mit Frau Teßmann auf: sammlung@bgaeu.de. Schildern Sie ihr bitte nach Möglichkeit in kurzen Worten Ihr fachliches Anliegen, insbesondere
1) den Inhalt und das Ziel Ihres Forschungsvorhabens,
2) die Methoden, mit welchem Sie Ihr Forschungsvorhaben hauptsächlich realisieren wollen,
3) den institutionellen Rahmen Ihres Forschungsvorhabens und den Auftraggeber,
4) die ungefähre Anzahl und die geographische Herkunft der von Ihnen zur Untersuchung vorgesehenen Objekte,
5) weitere, für die Beurteilung Ihres Forschungsvorhabens durch die BGAEU wichtige Informationen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Forschungsvorhaben, in deren Verlauf sich entweder irreversible Eingriffe in die Substanz der Objekte ergeben oder ein Transport von Objekte erforderlich wird, unter Umständen zuerst vom Vorstand unserer Gesellschaft beraten werden müssen. Der Vorstand entscheidet dann schnellstmöglich, ob bzw. in welchem Umfang Ihr Forschungsvorhaben durch die BGAEU unterstützt werden kann.

In allen anderen Fällen wird Frau Teßmann Ihr Anliegen in der Regel innerhalb weniger Tage prüfen und danach mit Ihnen die für Ihre Arbeit in der Sammlung erforderlichen Absprachen treffen.

Sollten Sie Ihr Forschungsvorhaben überwiegend oder ausschließlich auf der Basis der Sammlungsdokumentation bzw. von Archivalien realisieren wollen, nehmen Sie bitte zuerst mit dem Archiv unserer Gesellschaft Kontakt auf (archiv@bgaeu.de).

Nach oben


Benutzungsgebühr

Die technische und wissenschaftliche Verwaltung sowie die konservatorische Betreuung der anthropologischen Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung verursacht erhebliche laufende Kosten, die die BGAEU zu 100 Prozent aus dem eigenen Vermögen finanzieren muss. Die Höhe der aus Mitgliedsbeiträgen und Spenden bestehenden Einnahmen setzt hierfür enge Grenzen. Öffentliche Gelder standen und stehen der Gesellschaft dafür nicht zur Verfügung.

Daher ist es erforderlich, dass die BGAEU für die wissenschaftliche Benutzung der Sammlung eine Benutzungsgebühr erhebt. Die Benutzungsgebühr dient dazu, die unmittelbar durch die Benutzung der Sammlung hervorgerufenen Kosten anteilig zu decken. Sie dient indessen nicht dazu, Gewinne zu erwirtschaften, was durch ihre vergleichsweise geringe Bemessung von vornherein ausgeschlossen ist.

Die Benutzungsgebühr bemisst sich für Sie als Benutzerin / Benutzer pro Aufenthaltstag. Der Mindestbetrag für die wissenschaftliche Nutzung von Sammlungsobjekten beläuft sich derzeit auf 40,00 Euro, ermäßigt 20,00 Euro. Sollten Sie eine wissenschaftliche Nutzung der anthropologischen Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung in Erwägung ziehen oder schon konkret planen, so fordern Sie bitte die aktuelle »Gebührenordnung für die Nutzung der anthropologischen Sammlungsbestände der Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte« per E-Mail (sammlung@bgaeu.de) oder auf dem Postweg bei uns an.

Das Entrichten der Benutzungsgebühr erfolgt grundsätzlich per Vorkasse unter Verwendung untenstehender Kontoverbindung. Zuviel entrichtete Beträge werden Ihnen nach Ihrem Aufenthalt zurückerstattet, sofern für die betreffenden Aufenthaltstage seitens der BGAEU nicht bereits kostenpflichtige Leistungen erbracht wurden. Bitte planen Sie Ihren Aufenthalt in der anthropologischen Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung deshalb entsprechend sorgfältig. Gern unterstützen wir Sie dabei mit allen uns zu den Objekten der Sammlung verfügbaren Informationen. Wir werden stets bemüht sein, gemeinsam mit Ihnen einen optimalen Zeitplan für Ihren Aufenthalt in der anthropologischen Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung zu entwickeln.

Eine nachträgliche Verlängerung Ihrer Aufenthaltsdauer ist grundsätzlich möglich. Hierzu bedarf es lediglich eines formlosen schriftlichen oder mündlichen Antrags. Diesem wird stets dann stattgegeben werden, wenn seitens der BGAEU die organisatorischen Voraussetzungen dafür kurzfristig geschaffen werden können, insbesondere Ihre Betreuung vor Ort während des gewünschten Verlängerungszeitraums gewährleistet ist und Ihnen ein Arbeitsplatz zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann.

An Ihrem ersten Aufenthaltstag in der Sammlung stehen Ihnen die gewünschten Objekte mindestens sechs Stunden, an den Folgetagen acht Stunden zur Verfügung. Eine Nutzungsdauer über das Maß von acht Stunden pro Aufenthaltstag hinaus kann unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen individuell vereinbart werden, ohne dass daraus Mehrkosten erwachsen. Indessen besteht auf eine über das Maß von acht Stunden hinaus verlängerte tägliche Nutzungsdauer seitens der Benutzerin / des Benutzers kein Anspruch.

Zur Überweisung der im Zusammenhang mit Ihrem Aufenthalt in der anthropologischen Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung entfallenden Benutzungsgebühr verwenden Sie bitte ggf. folgende Bankverbindung: Kontoinhaber: BGAEU
Konto-Nr.: 106015100
BLZ: 10010010
Name der Bank: Postbank Berlin
IBAN: DE89 1001 0010 0106 0151 00
BIC: PBNKDEFF

Ordentliche Mitglieder unserer Gesellschaft zahlen stets die ermäßigte Benutzungsgebühr.

Von der Erhebung der Benutzungsgebühr kann in begründeten Ausnahmefällen abgesehen werden.

Nach oben


Zitierhinweise

Wenn Sie unsere Objekte in wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zitieren möchten, bitten wir Sie um Beachtung der nachfolgenden Zitierhinweise.

Eine korrekt zitierte Inventarnummer der anthropologischen Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung umfasst stets drei Bestandteile:
1) den Eigentümer des Objektes,
2) die Bestandsgruppe, der das Objekt innerhalb der Sammlung angehört und
3) die laufende Nummer des Objektes innerhalb der Bestandsgruppe (ggf. mit Zusätzen).

Die Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte als Eigentümer eines Objektes ist stets folgendermaßen abzukürzen: BGAEU.

Nachfolgend einige Beispiel für vollständige Inventarnummern:
BGAEU-RV 1234
BGAEU-RV 1234A
BGAEU-KK 1234
BGAEU-PS 1234
BGAEU-MM 1234
BGAEU-SAAM 1234

Nach oben


Überlieferungsgeschichte

(In dieser Rubrik wurden noch keine Inhalte hinterlegt.
Zu Informationen über die Geschichte der Sammlung sei an dieser Stelle auch auf den Kurzbeitrag von Ulrich Creutz „100 Jahre anthropologische Rudolf-Virchow-Sammlung“ verwiesen.)

Nach oben


Bilder

[Depoträume]
[Objekte]

Nach oben


Historische Sammlungskataloge

(In dieser Rubrik wurden noch keine Inhalte hinterlegt.)

Nach oben

[zurück zur Startseite]